This Changes Everything

     Today.  Today is different.  Today is another one of those backstabbing, heart aching, pain ranking days.

     Why backstabbing?  Because almost everytime we move, mom says it’s the last. But then a couple months later were moving again, farther and farther from our original home, which we were happy in. The whole family was there. Me, my mom, and my dad. But of course he died and we had to move because mom thought it wasn’t “safe”. Where is the safe place she’s thinking of? Is that really a thing? The safe place? If so, where would it be?

     Why heart-aching, you might ask? Because everytime we move we meet new people. Different people, different friends. New friends that I have to make, old friends I have to leave behind. Sometimes It helps me to think of it as having an “Old past” and a “New past”. Throw away the old past and keep going with the new one. Kind of like that song “Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver, the other is gold. A circle is round, it has no ends, that’s how long I will be your friend…” But sometimes I pass people on the streets that are my old friends, I wave at them. But they would look back at me with a confused smile. I guess that song is wrong (“…that’s how long I will be your friend” that’s the part of the song I’m talking about). But If that song is correct, then when would I meet a true blue friend that never forgets? I might have one already. But who knows?

     Why pain-ranking, other people might ask? Because, you know when you go to a hospital and they ask you what your pain is on a scale of 1 to 10? Well, everytime we move my mom always asks me that question. I always answered 2, I was little and I didn’t actually know that I would never see my friends again. But now that I’m older I understand that I might not see my friends ever again, maybe sometime in the future we walk past each other on the streets, say a quick “hello”, then continue walking to wherever we’re going. But this time, when mom asks me that question i’ll say a higher number that I haven’t said before.

     Tomorrow. Tomorrow will be different. It will be an inbetween-ish day, no school to worry about, all I have to focus on tomorrow is packing and next week’s school work. And the answer to my mom’s question. 10.

2 thoughts on “This Changes Everything

  1. You are very brave for sharing your thoughts and feelings like this. For that, I say a heartfelt thank you. Your friends will always be your friends, your teachers will always remember you. Huuuuuge hugs!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *